Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts
H

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bid on a 94 "JDM" 1.5L/1.6L Sohc Vtec on ebay, guy says its basically D16Z6. What do u guys think of it? I was gonna drop into my 92 cx hatch. Im kinda a newbie to SOHC i just picked up this car i had a 2000 GSR before. Just wondering if i can get some good power out of this thing N/A or boosted? Let me know

D

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
Hondaeg2 said:
I just bid on a 94 "JDM" 1.5L/1.6L Sohc Vtec on ebay, guy says its basically D16Z6. What do u guys think of it? I was gonna drop into my 92 cx hatch. Im kinda a newbie to SOHC i just picked up this car i had a 2000 GSR before. Just wondering if i can get some good power out of this thing N/A or boosted? Let me know
hi,i have been running the d15b jdm vtec from hmotors for 6 months now and it is way better than the z6 i had in there,42 mpg highway,and at least as fast,if not faster,btw get an si/ex trans,thats what im running and i love it!and ive heard they love boost(9.2 to 1 CR) i think.

·
Registered
126 Posts
hmm ideas...i want one damit

I

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
What the power that the D15B produced, I thought that those trannies were all the same.

·
Registered
300 Posts
how much would u guys recommend for boost with stock internal on this motor. Ive seen people say these motors are not a good motor to boost because of the internals being "unique". I want to boost mine but ive been told not to without internal work. Not meaning to thread jack but i wanna see wut u guys have to say. Thanks

·
Registered
1,034 Posts
on a stock honda motor with vtec, i wouldn't think anything above 7 is smart, maybe more if it's tuned properly, BTW i love my new D15B it has a DX trans unfortunaly but it's still pretty gutsy.

·
Registered
Civic, crv, titan
1,505 Posts
quick question for you OBD0 guys

what ecu are you using with the d15b ?