Honda D Series Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if something like this has been covered before. I couldn’t find a post about it. I’m the second owner of a 92 civic Si hatch with the stock motor. I’m 17 years old and just have done some basic modifications to my car. Full tanabe coilovers, Apexi ws2, skunk2 short shifter. I want to make my car faster. I have two ideas going right now. Have a b18b1 swapped into my car or buy a jdm single cam and rebuild that out of the car then drop it in. The only problem with that is that I have never done any engine building before. The most mechanical work I have done on my car is putting on an intake and changing the oil and breaks. Basically what I’m trying to ask is if someone with my credentials can buy a helms manual and get my hands dirty and build a fresh successful motor within a few months time? I have no idea how hard it is but I’m really leaning towards wanting to build my own motor because the experience would be great. But I really don’t want to try to do it to find that its impossible to do or just something that I try to do but it ends up not working and the problems never end.

What should I do?

·
Registered
335 Posts
yes its possible thats what i did but fair warning expect ure first motor to blow, mine lasted 4k miles of hard driving. good luck and happy building if u have any questions feel free to post

·
Registered
424 Posts
Get a Helms manual, NOT one of those cheap Chiltons ones. The Helms manuals are very clear and easy to understand. I would not waste the money on a JDM SOHC motor. Just pick up a used D16z6 motor and take your time to rebuild it. I would suggest you get some aftermarket rods and pistons and be sure to use OEM Honda seals and gaskets. Done right there is no reason your new motor shouldn't run for many years. My first motor I ever built is still running, and still handles 15PSI of boost:TU:

·
Registered
62 Posts