Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

Newbie here from the Emerald isle. I am in the middle of building/restoring a very horribly rusty ej2.
About to throw a d16w7 in her maybe.
Feast your eyes on my pics.

·
BATSLOMAN GIVES NO FUCKS.
4,100 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
When nasty old men do bad diy repairs 😭

Looks like I'll be ordering a d16w7 though.
Going boost, these seem to be between 9.9/1 and 10.5/1 CR depending on where you find your info so coukd be fun 😁

It has not dizzy though 🤔 its distributorless so dunno how that works with hondata?

·
4,100 Posts
hondata can run coil on plug

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
hondata can run coil on plug
I know it does with the distributor conversion but the D16w7 has a cam and crank position sensor(no dizzy) . Would it be a case of wiring those outputs to the ecu without purchasing the COP kit from hondata

·
4,100 Posts
the kpro would, but since youre using the obd1 harness, you might have to shoot them a message and ask.

·
Registered
93 Civic HB SI
362 Posts
Isnt that a D17?

The EGR valve on the side, the wrap around aluminum timing belt side mounting point, the intake manifold, the tstat housing around front... sure looks like a D17, could be wrong though!

Maybe it's a destroked D17 built for the euro market?

What engine is currently in the civic, because I spy a distributor in those first pictures?

Trying to transplant that Coil On Plug engine into your car shown in the pictures at the beginning of this post will be a LOT of work. Engine mounting points are different, your current car trans might not not bolt up to that COP engine bell housing bolt pattern, wiring and ECU considerations, etc.