Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
I'm apologizing in advance..lol ive dont alot of research and i hate asking these questions over and over but so many people have so many opinions on turbos with vitara set ups i just dont know what to choose.There are so many! i have never boosted a car before but ive worked on alot..(im an ase technician) All im looking for is the correct turbo to use for my set up

So, here we go
I have a d16z6 vitaras, eagles, block is decked .030 and head .006
Y8 2 layer
so im running 8.2:1
Slight port and polish on the head
Now, im thinking about the Garrett t3/t4 57 trim with .63 a/r with cast manifold from Go-autoworks with 3'' dump 3'' exhaust
im looking for a nice dd with good MPG's cuz im getting like 42 highway now
i want full spool around 4 grand and with around 300- 350 hp

Question is, will this have too much lag in lower rpm with running 8.2:1
if so, what size would u guys recommend

Thanks, Derek

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
ok awesome.. i was just worried that i wouldnt have any power at low rpm like now. im driving my vitara setup n/a and it sucks..

·
Registered
DOOKIE
604 Posts
with that .63 housing u may have a little lag though......ehhhh youll be fine.....8.2.1 is not incredibly low compared to stock block and head vitara/eagle setups .. in the 7s with compression oowwwww low

·
Well.......
2,488 Posts
well you never said what your full boost is gonna be.... to some ppl full boost is 8psi and to other full boost is 40+ psi.....

but ditch that 2 layer and get oem, find a cam to help your engine breathe alil better, also look in a dual ball bearing turbo to help spool time on a larger turbo(just my .02) so you can achive your 350 hp goal, also maybe someone will chime in but i would look into a mini ram or a full ram turbo mani.....

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #8