Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
okay let me start from the beginging. I pulled my d16y7 out of my civic to replace the tranny and head. While the motor was out I figured lemme pop out the pistons and see how everything looked. It looked fine so I was assemblying it back together.

Now this is my first time trying to assemble a motor, and I think I did everything right, until I came to the main cap. I guess since I was finishing up and almost done I started rushing and not payingmuch attention. anyway so I am torqeing all the main bolts down and i do the first round at 18lbs or whatver the helms said. Then I am going over them again at the 38lbs or whatever the helms said i dont eally remember right now, anyway when i came to the 4th bolt i think or so, I heard a snap. At first I thought i broke the bolt. But I look down and this is what I see

I couldnt believe my eyes. I was thinking maybe cuz it was so cold outside that was the reason. I mean how could that have broken. So while staring at the block and thinking I started kicking myself in the butt. I realize the main cap didnt really seat/click in place flush and was off a little. I guess with the rushing i didnt make sure it was on all the way so when i was torquing the pressure pressed the one said down but since the other side wasnt aligned right it didnt move/lower and it cracked. I guess thats what I guess for rushing

Okay so that is the background of whats going on right now, Now on to my current problem and questions