Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
whats up everyone. i have a 1993 with a z6 motor. built bottom end and im running 15 lbs on it. unfortunately i have noticed oil coming out between the turbo and manifold so i need to put new valve seals in it. i just wanted to see if anyone can give me some info on it cause i have never done a head before.
i didnt know if i had to take the head off just to do the valves and just how to go about the process.

HELP WOULD BE WELL APPRICIATED

matt

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i figured if it came down to me taking it off im going to take it down to a machine shop i know of in town where he will take everything off and do it for me. i was also thinking of getting him to redeck the head so i can up my compression....its pretty shitty at the moment. :p

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
ahhh i should have enough to do a decent amount to the head. my luck im going to take off the head and find out my valves are screwed. this car has been nothing but a hassle. but i love it

·
Curious George
'99 LX Civic Sedan
3,569 Posts
ahhh i should have enough to do a decent amount to the head. my luck im going to take off the head and find out my valves are screwed. this car has been nothing but a hassle. but i love it
Do a compression test, you'll see if your valve are screwed, if their is less than 15% of pressure difference, it could be the valves which doesn't sit correctly. Sometimes only a simple valve lapping can bring back the original compression. Or you have to replace both seat and valves.

Option 1: Do the stem valve seals in place:

- remove valve cover/valvetrain and cam.
- remove all spark plugs, and put the cranck to 0 mark. cylinder 1-4 must be at the top.
- fill the cylinder 1-4 with some small rope to prevent the valve going down the cylinder.