Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How's it going guys? New to the board and relatively new to these Civic... Been working on cars since I could first pick up tools, built several muscle cars, but it's my first time doing anything other than maintenance on one of these cars, and this one happens to be my daily.

My car is a stock '95 CX, but I'm planning the D16Z6 swap for later on down the road. Got 178k on this motor and it still runs perfectly. I attribute that to the regular maintenance with quality components and lubricants.

ANYHOW... LOL... Once I do pull the trigger on the Z6 swap, how much can I do to it before needing a tune? Was considering a head shave and Y8 HG's to get the CR up to about 10:1, as well as the 63441Z cam from Crower, along with the existing DC Tri-Y header & CAI, and Buddy Club Sport Pro Spec exhaust. Would this get me to the point of needing / justifying a tune?

This car will remain my daily, so I'm just looking for a little more power, but don't really want to get to the point of custom tunes and such.

Thanks for any input. Oh, and yes I tried searching this info but got tired of not finding anything specific.

- Turbo

·
Registered
977 Posts
So....you wish to up your CR but are asking if you need a tune. Do you already run 92? If you stay pump gas and don't boost then not really. But to keep from running rich? Average tune on the chrome or hondata.

·
Registered
977 Posts
Experience. My CRX 10:5.1 for my CR. No problem going to Arco. Got a laptop? Good. Learn chrome. Pass it on.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
No offense but did you read my post? My car currently has the stock D15B8 motor that comes in the CX, so why would I run 92 octane?

I guess what I'm trying to figure out is just how much learning these older ECU's can actually do before needing a tune, especially considering this car will remain naturally aspirated. Just trying to plan ahead is all.

·