Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 81 Posts

·
Registered
984 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I figured I'd share a my manifold build with my d-series peeps. I'm open for suggestion or comments, good or bad. i'm a big boy. I can take it. Its just tacked together so if any changes are to be done they need to be now. This is my first attempt at building any kind of manifold and I already see some things I wish I would've done differently.

Harbor Freight $45 chop saw. I welded some angle iron to the side at the guestimated angle I wanted for the collector. I just clamped the pipe down with a C clamp and hacked away.

...and ended up with 4 of these.

...which became this (x2)

decent welds for a $80 Harbor freight flux core welder.

Here's a shot of the flange I made lined up with the Holset inlet. You can see how much material had to be removed for a smooth transition.

And finally one side of the collector welded to the flange.

·
Registered
984 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
After the collector was welded up, I made a bracket to hold the turbo in its place which will also support the weight of the turbo. This should help relieve some of the stress off the runners themselves and help prevent cracking.... I hope.

Once it was mocked up on the car I ended up cutting the angle out and using some all-thread. This allowed me to be able to bend the mount to get the turbo in its final position. which was an MFer BTW. It is tight in there.

I bought a box of schedule 40 90's in mild steel and got some scrap pipe from work.

Then went to work. Started with runner #2.

and paired it with #3

Didnt get anymore pics until #3 and #4 were done.

·
Registered
984 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)

Then #4 sneaking in there at the end.

and off the car.