Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts
S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to turbos, but im interested in making my own setup. I have researched, and looked at most of the good info. on building my own setup. My ultimate goal is a fun, auto x/dd car that should spool quickly. I'm not too sure on how quickly 2,800;3,000;3,500 but I know it should be in that range. From what I've heard for auto x (turbo) it shouldn't have more than around 225hp, but that would be what im aspiring to. Now my question is which turbo should i use t25, ihi...? I dont know how much lag/avail. horsepower each turbo produces. I also need reliability for my daily.

B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
T25,14B,ihiRB25, any of these would suit your needs. The fastest spooling one out of them would be the T25.

T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Boostoholic said:
The fastest spooling one out of them would be the T25.
Actually, the IHI spool about 200-400rpms faster than the T25. Giving you a full 8psi (internally wastegated) at 3000-3200rpms (depending on head flow). Wheread a T25 normally ranks in between 3300-3700rpms (again, depending on head flow). 14bs will spool 8psi around 3800-4100rpms.

This data gathered personalyl from my previous turbo setups. Motors ranging from A6, Z6, and Y7/Y8 mini, respectively.

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i also dont want the top end (hp/tq) to decrease. if anyone could be more specific about the turbo specs of each of these turbos, and hopefully some dyno's with setups that somewhat fit my description.

S

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Anyone with t28 specs? What are the maximum psi's of each, and will all of the turbo's listed t25, t28, ihi, 14b be able to eventually make around 200+ hp w/somewhat good high and low end?

T

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
AutoX car doens't need top end.

When I tune a customers car for autoX, we tune for high output, mid to high rpm. Second gear.