Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
96 hatch SIR
1,334 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any of you guys ever have this problem where the exuast stud on the head broke and half of it is still in the thread of the head? How am i supose to fix this? This is gonna suck If I have to pull the head off and take it to a machine shop.

·
www.rifftrax.com
1996 Civic Ex Sedan
1,517 Posts
i did this once with one of the bolts that hold the water spout to the head and ended up breaking an easy out off in it and then i HAD to take to a machine shop. that was when i was a TOTAL NOOB though and since then i have broken a timing belt tensioner bolt and fixed it no problem. here's what you do:

go get a set of easy outs and left-handed drill bits. use a punch to put a divot in the very center of the broken bolt so that your drill bit doesn't wander. then start with a small drill bit and work your way up until you have a very small amount of material left before you start getting into the threads. just make sure you don't go too big and drill out some of the threads in the head. then get an easy out that fits in the hole you drilled. it's going to need to be at least a 1/4 inch in the hole. now spray the whole thing down with pb blaster and let it sit for 5 or 10 minutes. then lightly hammer the easy out into the hole and start trying to unscrew the broken bolt slowly. if you see the easy out start to flex then back off. if you break one of those then its over. you should be able to back the broken bolt right out of the hole and go have a beer :)

edit: left-handed drill bits are not necessary, i just mentioned them because sometimes just drilling the hole with those will back the bolt out.

·
Brokedick Millionaire
40,252 Posts
LH bits for the win!

Sometimes when they do dig in, the remains of the bolt just screw out.

jew, you'll fit right in here until TD16 is back up!

·
Registered
96 hatch SIR
1,334 Posts
Discussion Starter #4