Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
nOOb here

ok so I have a obd2 jdm d15b 3 stage that I want to build. I've been researching and there seems to be some confusion on this engine. I wanted to know if i can use y8 pistons and rods or do i need to get custom length rods. as for the head they say there isn't any cams for the head. I would like your inputs.

My plans
Head (p2j-a?4?)(cant tell if it says A or 4)
Supertech Valve/Springs/Retainers (y8 or zc?)
Bisimoto 2.4 level cam(y8 or zc?)
Arp head studs(not sure if i need y8 or z6)
Skunk2 pro series manifold(got it)
Y8 throttle body(got it)
Golden eagle fuel rail
RC 550cc injectors
Block (jdm d15B)
Vitara YCP pistions
Eagle H beams rods(custom or y8 length?)
Tranny (y8)
MFactory lsd
4 stage Competition Clutch
Completion Lightweight Flywheel
Engine Management
P28 with s300(got it)
Turbo
Precision 5431 t3t4
(have a ebay turbo for now)
Fuel Pump
Walbro 255(got it)

·
Registered
ej8
6,367 Posts
As the man said.
The jdm motor tend to have a lil bit more power but that's because of higher compression.
And when swapping one in for a replacement there great.
Bit when building one it's different story. Parts are different and it's can be hard to find out which part is needed.

·
Registered
93 DelSol S, 95 DelSol Si, 01 Odyssey EX, 04 CRV EX
2,177 Posts
the jdm d15b takes 0.1 liters away by putting the wrist pin higher on the piston, thus lowering deck height.

this is your concern.

to verify your crank fits this description, your main and rod journals will have the same measurements give or take a few thousandths.

from there, build and check clearances along the way.

·
Registered
2,177 Posts
no replacement for displacement. the 1.6 has more potential and larger main bearings which is good. also the D16 has a longer stroke.