Honda D Series Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
95 b7 block, z6 head, z6 cam gear, z6 timing belt. I followed the service manual procedure of jumping the service check plug and using a timing light and I couldn't get the marks right. The dizzy all the way retard I can't get it past 18ish degress. All the way advanced and I can't see the marks at all. What am I doing wrong?

·
Brokedick Millionaire
40,748 Posts
1/2 tooth cam timing error, something I've been preaching about for 20 years.

Might be 2000+ posts on here covering it.

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
I found a few posts somewhat addressing this, but I like interacting with people. Mainly the experts since they always have an immediate correct answer or at least an immediate direction to look, after all it is a community. Would that affect spool up at all? The car seems to idle, run, and drive just fine.

·
Brokedick Millionaire
40,748 Posts
Considering I'm the person who discovered the issue, you need to time the cam correctly first.

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
20 long years of guiding fresh young minds in the right direction. So, y8 gear and belt and 1 tooth advanced.

·
Registered
140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Ok, well I went and got a y8 gear and belt, set it to tdc and advanced one tooth and i still can't get base timing set correctly because I can't get the car to idle correctly at 650-750. The car starts and idles just fine. No weird surging or anything but it idles low. Not sure on the exact rpm but it's just a hair above the bottom line. Maybe my tach is off and it is idling at the right rpm or something I don't know. I've got a b16 throttle body on a port matched z6 intake mani. No fitv, and the iacv is connected but bypassed.

·
Classic Man
Civic
16,355 Posts
Car doesnt idle right, not using idle motor, suggest you use idle motor. :)