Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I tried jumping my car with no battery and the battery box because the battery was good as dead anyways, I threw the jumper box on it and I went to start and everything was working then click, nothing, I don’t get a key chiming sound like there’s no power at all to anything, I figured I popped something in the ecu. I plugged in my stock and I do get the key chime I didn’t try starting it because I didn’t wanna screw the stock one up, can anyone help me out?
Long story short something in the ecu is cooked and I’m not good with electronics lol point me in the right direction!

·
Registered
89 EF 4wd sedan
636 Posts
Seems more likely that you haven't jumped it properly rather than you cooked the ECU.

Did your jump pack have enough charge in it? If not, turning the key might've just sucked it dry. Maybe the ground/power connections weren't clean enough for current to pass properly.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
ecu doesn't activate key chime..
I can plug my stock in and I get they key chime sound tho?? Which leads me to think there’s a short in the ecu I had no battery installed in the car and I plugged a jumper box to the positive an neg leads. I don’t see anything burnt out inside the ecu so what could it be..?

·
BATSLOMAN GIVES NO FUCKS.
4,454 Posts
so you plugged a jump box to the battery cables with no battery in the car. then you tried to crank it that way.....have you checked the battery fuse to make sure you didn't cook it?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
  • In
  • so you plugged a jump box to the battery cables with no battery in the car. then you tried to crank it that way.....have you checked the battery fuse to make sure you didn't cook it?
    jump box freshly charged, all grounds have been freshened up battery fuse doesn’t look blown..

·
4,454 Posts
don't care how it looks, put a test light on it and make sure

·
Registered