Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First, I'm a DSeries noob, and apologize if this is misplaced.

I have a CRX Si with a D15B2 block. I blew a head gasket or the head was warped. I had the head leveled and rebuilt the head, but I managed to screw up the head studs threads on the block. I even managed to screw up a helicoil rethreading kit, well at least it's not holding torque. :bash:

I picked up most of a D16Z6 engine (missing injectors and parts of the distributor), that someone who seemed knowledgeable was rebuilding but opted for a B series instead. But the D16Z6 has PM3 pistons.

Now, the CRX is my daily driver doing 20k miles a year so I really would prefer reliability and economy over performance. So I'm considering doing a stock rebuild since I would prefer to run on 87 octane. I just want to get the CRX back up to at least stock Si performance (108 hp). I'm also shooting for 40 mpg on the highway. I'm sure I'd be happier with a D15Z1 but I couldn't find one locally.

So my questions:

1. How long does it take to rebuild a block?
2. What tools would I need and where can I get them?
3. What are some good threads to read?
4. Where to find stock PM3 pistons?
5. How much would it cost?
6. Can I reuse the Si intake manifold?

I read over a service manual a bit, but I would appreciate some guidance.

·
Registered
'97 Del Sol
751 Posts
So my questions:

1. How long does it take to rebuild a block?
2. What tools would I need and where can I get them?
3. What are some good threads to read?
4. Where to find stock PM3 pistons?
5. How much would it cost?
6. Can I reuse the Si intake manifold?

I read over a service manual a bit, but I would appreciate some guidance.
Money=time to a degree. A strickly stock rebuild will be cheaper and faster but your experience will play part aswell. A rebuild will take months in most cases, between waiting on machine work, parts to be shipped in, and putting it all together.