Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whats up guys, I just bought a 98 civic 2 dr ex. Apperently it's a D16Y8 engine.Whats the details on the engine? HP and TQ and shit? Anyways I just bought a Ingen RD series cold intake, but now I'm kinda lost one where to start. I guess I'm not trying to build it up for drag, I just wanna make it fast as possible, lol. So where should I start?

·
d-series Member
3,134 Posts
127 hp and hundred something torque at the crank... all basic boltons- intake, header, exhaust will net you maybe 15-20 or so horses. how fast are you looking to go- do you wanna run low
15s or low 13s? and what kinds of emissions laws do you have? lol gotta know the background before we can give you good advise

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
What do you mean low15's or 13's. I'm new at this, but I have the resorces and help to do this. I'm not sure about my emmissions laws. I guess I really don't know much, lol. By the way, whats boosting, lol? I'm motivated tho. Oh yeah I have a autamatic, is that gonna limite me.

·
Registered
901 Posts
haha, you seem WAY too excited, but yeah. umm, low 15's or 13's or whatever is your 1/4 mile time. how fast do you wanna go? that motor has a TON of potential and an endless amount of aftermarket support. so you need to worry about smog(do you have to do a smog check where you're at to tag your car), and how much dedication *cough**money**cough* do you have?

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #7