Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
No more Honda's :-(
3,223 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok as some of you know i built my motor. it's all built with block posts, eagle rods, wiseco pistons stock head and gasket, arp head gasket, etc.

only problem i had putting the motor together was that one ring i could not file down enough. it was .001 out of spec.

i've been runing the motor at 10-12 psi tuned for a few months now (under 4k) and now it smokes. it smokes more at idle. some times more than others. and when it does smoke the longer i let it idle the worse it gets to a certain extent. when i'm driving it seems not to burn oil at all.

any idea's? seriously guys let's heard them and the reson behind your theary so that i can respond.

·
Premium Member
5,910 Posts
Improper break in? did you baby the motor too much I cant remember how you said you did it. The cylinder walls may be glazed.

·
3,223 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
i broke it in pretty good till about 1100 miles. then i put in royal purple.

the oil pressure might be a little low but if it was why would it smoke? if i get a chance i'll check it tomorrow.

i'll do a compression test tomorrow as well. last time it showed thsat the rings seated just fine.

·
Registered
4,585 Posts
Mine is exaxt opposite.. I smoke badly now w/ high boost on my motor.. but idle is fine.. Im thinking of what bizzar said.. ?? More input someone.>??

·
3,223 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
if your turbo and you smoke up topi would think that your yurbto is shot. mine smoke bad at idle.

·
3,223 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
exhaust, straight up smeels like burnt oil. but id break in was the cause wouln't it do it all the time? this happens just some times. and when it does it's really bad. if i can i'll take video this weekend of how bad it gets. i'm pretyty sure i know what it is now but i want some closeure.

·
Administrator
16,376 Posts