Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
269 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I had a turbo built for me by mhamrick. It has a 14b 6cm turbine with an evo X 16g compressor wheel and cover. I was wondering if anyone ever ran this setup up before. We discussed that the 14b hot side would help with spool while the evo X compressor wheel would help with top end. Anyone have an idea what the limits of this turbo would be hp wise? He told me it would be good for a setup shooting for ~300-350hp. Anyone other thoughts on this? I was curious if I should opt for the 7cm turbine or stick with the 6cm. Any suggestions? I am shooting for ~325hp.

·
Registered
269 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The compressor wheel doesn't spin as freely as it should. I thought that it might have been because there hasn't been any oil in the turbo yet. Is that normal? I have not installed the turbo yet, I have been holding on to it for a couple of years now and am ready to start building.

·
Registered
2,942 Posts
That thing should spin like a TOP. What BeerDrinkin said, be careful. Also, I've never heard of that combo........I also don't know anything about the evo x turbo though. I would have tried to find an evo 8 turbo. Mmmmmm fun.

Also I would think that a 14b turbine would run out of breath/pump a bunch of hot air when reaching those hp levels.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Registered
269 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
He had to custom machine the compressor side for everything to fit. At the time I ordered two turbos from him, a t3 60 trim .48/.42. That one spun fine and worked great until I sold it. I will try adding some oil and see if the wheel spins this weekend.

BigJnWorldWide: I was thinking the same thing, that was why I was considering upgrading to the 7cm housing.

Btw when I dealt with him, he was very chill and I do not have any real complaints about the transaction. I saw the other threads and am lucky I didn't lose my money.

·
Registered