·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok Im a little confused on this topic.

I am working on a d16y7/z6 head and air intake manifold on a 98 cx hatch
that has been converted to OBD1 (p28) ecu

I have wired iacv, vtec but I need to know if the evap needs to be wired in
also the black canister on block, does that need to be plugged up as well or do I leave it connected to the hose that goes up to the manifold and to the pcv valve? or do I remove the pcv plug up the nipple on the manifol and black canister on block?

I also plugged up the evap canister on the fire wall, the nipple where the hose from the evap purge connects to.

please dont bash me, this is my first time swapping a head and I am a little lost. thanks

·
BATSLOMAN GIVES NO FUCKS.
5,034 Posts
leave the black box on the back of the engine. buy a new pcv valve and use it.

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
ok another mini me Noob question

Ok here is a little more info on my project.

Reason for head swap was due to a broken timing belt on my y7 ( 98 CX Chassis )

Purchased a rebuilt d16z6 head
and a z6 intake manifold
and a p28 chpped ecu with a d16z6 stock basemap from xenocron
as current chip on ecu was for a f22.

I have my vtec and iacv all wired in at the ecu jumper harness

I went with a y8 head gasket and while the head was off replaced water pump with new oem pump, shimmed my oil pump and changed the seal, ( pump looked to be in decent shape upon inspection)
put on a d16z6 timing belt and cam gear, oh and a new timing belt tensioner.
changed a couple of seals here and there, including a oil pan gasket (oem)
I did the nine y7 head bolts and the one z6 head bolt in the top left corner of head) and all were new oem bolts.

I have a d16z6 distributor that I soldered a obd2 plug to it so that I dont have to buy a harness.

Replaced the distributor cap and rotor with oem parts
and running blue ngk spark plug wires that i had on my y7 (but ngk says they will work on a vtec head)