Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Here 's the problem: 95 Honda ex with the stock d16z6

The honda will idle fine. When i turn my lights, heater or radio on it starts to lose voltage at the battery. Im an electrician so im not stupied about this. My battery is brand new, Just bought it. My alternator is also brand new. I just bought it too. If i unhook the positive side of the battery while the car is running It still runs. But if i turn the lights on or anything else it dies completley. Im guessing i have something going ground somewhere. Or is there anything else i need to try. Any ideas would be helpful.

·
FAMILY MEMBER #316
2,955 Posts
not to be a dick, but just cuz its brand new doesnt mean its gonna work properly.

what voltage does it drop to when you turn on lights, etc.? can i get a voltage when idle, when each device is turned on, and when the vehicle is off?

what was the last thing you did to the vehicle? have you tried an idle current draw test yet? (see my sticky)

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Its cool. At Idle it drops about 1/2volt for every thing i turn on at first, but then it just keeps on droping till it dies. My alternator pulls 14.4 volts with the battery unhooked. If the car is turned off it does about the same 1/2 volt, it might last for 5mins then its dead. If i let the car idle for 10mins with every thing off the alternator will charge the battery up to about 13.6. Im 99.9% sure its not the alternator is not the problem because the old one that i just took off tested good at advance auto. And this is actually the oringnal problem. THanks for helping

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Sorry I cant do the amp draw tonite. I most have blew a fuse in my meter awhile ago..I will pick one up tommorow at work and get u that test tomorrow nite
....Any thing else to try??

·
Registered
1988 Civic Hatch
652 Posts