Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
98 Civic Si
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So this is going to be my on-going build thread for my newly acquired 1998 Civic Si. It's going to be a long term build more than likely but better than nothing :p I am still learning, so feel free to chime in if you have any suggestions.

"Uncle Si"
1998 Honda Civic Si (USDM)
369,000kms+ on Body
Unknown KMs on JDM D15B Swapped Engine

First thing I did was take the rear end apart and inspect it since it had been rear ended. Nothing structural looked damaged, just the bumper cover and the trunk lid was bent. I'll be replacing the trunk lid later on but the bumper cover was falling off and would get me unwanted attention so I found one local for $30.

Aside from that I have only fixed the windshield wiper motor and drivers window regulator. Nice and easy, which is a nice change compared to my old car :p

So here are some immediate plans:
Energy Suspension Shifter Bushings (Ordered)
Megan Short Throw Shifter (Ordered)
OE Headlight Sockets (It has HID's and I hate them in a non-projector headlight, so I am swapping back to factory)
Look into the fog lights (They're wired up as far as I know but not working)
Look into random stalling/idle issues (Possible Ignition issue or Main Relay)
New rubber
Oil Change

I will be looking at doing the timing belt, waterpump, etc. The previous owner has no idea and he had it almost a year so.. peace of mind but first thing is getting it certified and on the road.

I guess that is it for now, I'll post as things come in and I install them..
Thanks for looking.

·
Registered
98 Civic Si
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Update:

Parts:
- Megan Short Throw & Poly Shifter Bushings have arrived. Will be installing those tomorrow. Can't wait to kill the incredible amounts of slop.

- Picking up a set of 16" Drag DR20's from a friend. Pretty sure they are reps of the Work Equip wheel but I get what I can afford. It is what it is.