Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So here's the story, I bought a 1997 Honda Civic EX Sedan with a D16Y8 Fully built. I don't think the build list matters but if you are curious just ask. The current Tranny on the car has a few issues. The biggest issue that is killing me is 2nd gear. It pops out of gear when going from 1st to 2nd in lower to mid rpm's. The second issue is 3rd gear has a grind when putting it in. It doesn't help that my car has a stage 4 XTD clutch and an 8.5lb Flywheel. I don't want to rebuild as I'm a ROOKIE at this stuff and just started learning the basics.

Somebody on craigslist is selling a 91 Si Tranny for 175$ with the axles. Is this a good deal and is it a direct swap? Can I use my original axles from my s40 or use the ones from the Si? Basically, am I going to have any issues with the swap if it's even possible?:wacko:

Thanks.

·
Brokedick Millionaire
40,226 Posts
N o where close to a direct swap, but the issues are an easy fix.

TOO much clutch and CSB has walked out. Might be a simple cleanup on the 3-4 or a full rebuild as needed once parts are inspected.

·
Registered
5,847 Posts
I think even if the trans was perfect, an issue I see is the china ebay clutch.

XTD

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Get a junkyard trans and it could have the same or more issues. Have the transmission rebuilt or get a rebuilt transmission.

www.wd-r.com