Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a 03 civic ex.. im new to honda. my car has the d17a2, looking for some suggestions on what to do with this engine. wether its n/a or f/i, it doesnt matter im open to anything, so let me know what you guys think. thanks.

im wanting to make some pretty decent power.

·
Registered
113 Posts
You need to be more specific to what your looking for.

Pretty decent power? Is that 175hp or 250hp? Are you daily driving it? Is this a project and have the ability to take it off the road for awhile, or are you looking for quick power?

Just a bit more info would help us a ton! :)

·
Registered
189 Posts
build what you've got.

quick and easy power = bisimoto cam + springs, i/h/e, and a good tune
GO!

·
Registered
1,514 Posts
To tune you have to go kpro or standalone it will not be cheap or easy. I would just drive the car stock and get another older/cheaper honda to play with. I am sorry to say but the only thing good about a d17 is the crank, rods, pistons, oil pump, rear main plate to swap it all into a older d16. Or I would only do i/h/e

Is this a auto or manual?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
its a manual of course. i was looking maybe for a turbo kit, but im not sure what to do about tuning. a few bolt ons, cams, and a tune would be good. let me change my question to, what could i do to add some power to the car? not a huge amount i guess.

sorry for the noobish question, but im not sure what i/h/e even is.

·
Registered
4,583 Posts
that means you prob havents searched...

intake,header,exhausrt

all of which will do shit for your car. the 01-05 hondas have an adaptive ecu.with your stock computer no matter what you do your car will figure out you modified it...after a week any gains you got will have been lost.without a stock ecu that is... your only tuning options are piggy backs like k-pro or e-manange.