Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
D16z6 build NEED CONFIDENCE!!!
Well, as the subject says, I think at this point I just need confidence and some advice to start the project!
I have a 93 delsol with a D16Z6 motor. It has about 220,000 miles, no air, manual etc. I want to add turbo but I want to do it right and as a phase 1 project, want to rebuild the engine, break it in real good, then phase 2 add turbo.
I’ve done a lot of car work before: clutches, head gasket, intake many, exhaust swap, etc. when I was 12 my dad and I rebuilt a the head of an engine my mom drove around with no coolant lol… so I have some experience, not a noob. Also I have a son who’s 10 and want to have a project with him. But anyway, I’ve never rebuilt the bottom end before and am new to turbo etc. but here’s the plan:
Phase 1:
New vitara pistons, custom I beam rods from fjdistributors.com
ACL bearing kit, arp bolts, oil pump, new seals, Ferrea 6000 valves, sachs flywheel (factory weight) competition clutch stage 3 clutch kit.
I plan on taking the block and head apart, cleaning, taking it to a machinist, having them check it, hone the block, cut the valve seats, whatever is needed. I found a guy that is highly recommended for this and has quoted me great prices.
I guess, as I said, I’m just not sure of all the “surprises” that can come up. I’m worried about wrecking the motor by missing some small detail. In all the reading I’ve done it seems like a job people can do if they’re just meticulous and pay very close attention to details etc. I plan on taking TONS of pictures as I tear down so I have references for reassembly etc. I have hanes and chiltons and have been pouring over them in addition to all the great stuff on this forum.
Any advice, warnings, heads up, tips, confidence builders (LOL) would be MUCH appreciated!
Thanks guys!

·
Registered
1,140 Posts