Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 116 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well here is my plans, currently i have a d16y8 turbocharged with a turbonetics t3 and a vortec fmu! on the way is a walboro 255 pump, b&m fpr and gauge! i wanted to run 8 psi daily but after reading here on d-series.org, and being a noob, i wanted to run about 300whp on the d! i was thinking about srp 9.0-1 pistons, eagle rods, skunk2 stage 1 cam, skunk2 cam gear, golden eagle block guard, golden eagle sleeves, arp head studs and some other things! since i have the y8 in the car, i kinda want to build it on the side..i have a d16y5 (hx) motor on the side so i was wondering if i could build that block, then later transfer the y8 head on the y5? would it still be an ex? or would the economy vtec still be the same? thanks for all the help....aloha from hawaii

O

·
0 Posts
your going to want something better than an fmu. if your doing pistons and stuff your looking for over 5-6psi and thatmeand a decent fuel management/ecu system, neptune, hondata, and some otehrs are all good units to consider.

FYI if you just buy a new greddy kit and one of the ebay $250 fmic and get a bov and have the e-managed reprogramed and get larger injectors you can run 10lbs on the new kits and make over 200 wheel hp on a STOCK motor.

·
Shoot me!
6,890 Posts
Definetly going to need better fuel management. The bottom end sounds nice and beefy that you want to build.Since the head is going to come off ya might want to beef that up to maybe port the intake side of head and intake mani to match and port and polish the exhaust side and match it with the exhaust mani. Upgrade the valve train titanium springs and retainers then you could run a bigger cam maybe a stage 2 or 3.Have it tuned really nice and you will have a beast.Good luck

·
the hard-parker
4,257 Posts
BoOsTeD_eX said: