Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
Im new to hondas, so forgive me if this has been covered a million times. I would like to put a z6 head on my y7 engine.

I've seen a number of write ups to go from a y7 to y8, but have not had much luck from a y7 to a z6. . .

ive got a 97 dx (d16y7) I've found a z6 head, intake, and throttle body at the junkyard for cheap, so i got those. anything else i will need? i need to go back and get the ECU i hear... is there anything else i should get? - like injectors or the exhaust manifold?

also, is there any chance i could get this to pass CA smog? i live in Texas now so im not too concerned, but could be moving soon.

·
\/ apply baby lotion here \/
'98 Civic 4 Door
11,260 Posts
for starters, I doubt that Ecu will be there when you go back cuz I already sent someone to go get it :biggrin:

2nd, smog you wont pass.

You need to get a combination of y7/y8 and 1 or 2 z6 head bolts. Something like that I get them mixed up. That's why I hate putting z6 head's on y7's.

if you got the intake manifold from the junk yard, why didn't you get the fuel injectors? Fail..

also, you need to get a p2p obd2a ecu and you have to do a little modification to your engine harness wiring..

not to mention swapping out that annoying fugly looking ass exhaust manifold header...

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
ugh yeah. the injectors were already taken when i got there. can i use mine or should i find some off of a odb1 civic?

and i hear there is a obd1 wiring adapter, can i just use that with the ECU from the 96 ex? and is it worth grabbing that z6 exhaust manifold as well? i know its crap but will my y7 manifold line up?

I'm new to tuning n such, just want to get started with small investments - things that i can find at junkyards n stuff. Thanks for all the help and tips!

oh. whats the deal with the head bolts? do i really need to buy new ones?

·
Registered
Civic