Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've got a 98 Civic hatchback with a D16Y7 motor. I'm a poor college student but would like to work on the motor but can't afford a DOHC and the engine i do have has very low miles on it. Boosting is out of the question since i don't have that amount of money. I was wondering on the potential of the D16 and what it's capabilities are. I was also wondering if the D16Z6 head can be switched with the Y7 or would i be better off with a Y8 head.

·
Registered
Honda Civic LX
402 Posts
I've got a 98 Civic hatchback with a D16Y7 motor. I'm a poor college student but would like to work on the motor but can't afford a DOHC and the engine i do have has very low miles on it. Boosting is out of the question since i don't have that amount of money. I was wondering on the potential of the D16 and what it's capabilities are. I was also wondering if the D16Z6 head can be switched with the Y7 or would i be better off with a Y8 head.
what up mannn..yeha ive been workin on my Y7 ever so slowly....one suggestion is..these questions ahve been answered a few milltion times over..so if u type it into the search bar...u'll find a hundred threads...if u r good with engine building..or kno ur shit with cars...or u can just read up on palces like erhe n HMT.com...uc an build urself a nice turbo kit for around a grand...or $700 as ryan told me....

i mean for me I/IM/H/E...those alone put me in the $650 range..my exhaust being most..since i had a shop do it custom...n i have AEM puelly's..n i probbably gained 10 crank horse...from a stock 106 crank horse..havent dyno'd so i wouldnt know....

but if i had known..n if i had reasearched...400 dollars more...n bulding my own turbo..id prob be in the 140-160WHP range with an untuned turbo set up..

but like i said....search around first...im sure u will find 90% of the answers u seek..