Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys., whats up?..I'm new to the forums (names chris.. from toronto) and I'm planning on building up a d16y7 over the winter months. I work in a shop so I'm not completley clueless as to what to do but I'm just looking for advice on name brands to buy to begin my build. Such as what brand of pistons and rods and what not. I'm looking to run boost. My goal is 275-300 whp. With this amount of power am i going to have to look into building my tranny or switching my crank? Am i going to have to do head work? etc. Thanks for your help guys..I have be lurking through the forums for a while and have got alot of info, but still curious.

·
Registered
70 Posts

·
Registered
3,720 Posts
Stock crank is fine. Stock head/cam are fine. Stock Transmission is fine.

You will need a built bottom end, clutch, injectors, cold plugs, tuning, etc.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Alright guys, thanks for the responses. I'll check other threads and see what other guys are doing. And yes I plan on doing the clutch while the engine is out as well as my fule system, fule pump/filter/regulator and injectors. and of course tuning! IF i do decide to do head work maybe a bisi 3.6 cam would it allow for more psi then just a built bottom end?

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
one more question..sorry guys if its been posted before but whats the difference between a d16y7 and d15b? I'm having trouble finding a d16y7 block but i found a d15b..is it harder to find parts for a d15b or is it relativity the same? and i understand this is a d series forum but i also found a good deal on a b20..are parts more expensive for a b series over a d or once again about the same?? thanks in advance guys!

·
They call me Awesome!
4,447 Posts
IF i do decide to do head work maybe a bisi 3.6 cam would it allow for more psi then just a built bottom end?