Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
97 Hatch
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I'm new to D-series.org but not new to the honda scene. I just recently got my hands on a CRX DX for pretty much free, only thing wrong with it is the motor is blown. Did a little research and found out it had a d15. Well I decided that was pretty lame and had decided on swapping a B16 into it, but today I pulled the motor only to notice on the engine code was d16a6. According to wikipedia that motor came out of the SI so I know the motor has been swapped. My question is, is this motor worth building? Junkyard parts are minimal....ricers pick over the yards on a regular basis so finding an unmolested z6 or y8 aint happening. But I do know where there are a few A1's sitting for cheap. I was originally gonna swap one of those in and build, but then i found out it wont fit without some major mods. But i am curious if this motor would be worth building or possibly if the A1 head would swap onto the A6 block. Appreciate any info you can give me. And to all the flamers out there if its not helpful information :stfu: JK but seriously I dont need to know if this is a newb question..Iv never messed with civics before, was always an accord guy before i got this rex. Iv done some searching on the site, but havnt found out exactly what im looking for. Again i appreciate any info you guys can hook me up with.

Mike

·
Registered
766 Posts
The A1 will not bolt up to your existing transmission, nor will it drop in with your stock mounts. The head will fit, but it's more trouble than it's worth. Someone did it just so he could prove it could be done. What exactly is wrong with the A6 you have now? Blown is too general a term

·
Registered
97 Hatch
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5