Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
hi everyone!
i am very new to this engine building process, so please bear with my very novice questions.

i basically have 1991 civic.

as far as i know after doing some research i have
a d16a6,
i recently installed a greddy turbo kit and i had to modify it to make it work but its on there and running,
emanage blue that came with the kit. it too is working just fine but needs a tune tho.
everything else is stock

TD04H-15G 8cm2
cast manifold w/e-manage

recently im not sure what i blew but its smoking alot when i rev it hard or go over 3.5k rpms.

so after talking to some very knowledgable people. i feel that it is time to just built it up and do it right.
as my personal preference i would really like to rev much higher then stock.
its just for the fun factor.

goal:
to make it very realiable but fun and max out what i currently have with my current turbo set up. im not going to drag it or try to beat any records. i just want to have fun beating on it once in a while.

i dont mind doing pistons, camshafts, rods, springs/retainers, oil pump, water pump, adjustbale cams, etc...

other then these i am not sure what else i need to get, the little stuff that most people kinda leave out and becomes a huge suprise when it comes up.

so just as i dont have time to redo all this again, i would rather just do the whole shabang at one time and do it right, and finally get it tuned.

if i ask the same question or sound ignorant please bear with me as i will not know what most things do. hence this is why i am here trying to learn.

thanks...

initial questions:
what do i need.
what does that part do.
where can i get that particular part for cheap.
is there name brands i should get or even stay away from.
is there a procedure that i need to do first, second, third, etc..

·
R2.....Zap Balls
94 Ex coupe
5,186 Posts