Honda D Series Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
EF9 DC2
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm starting a engine build and would like to get some ppls input on my build, it's my first time building an engine.
Any special concerns with this combo? Will it bolt together and be good to go, or is there some specific details that are going to need to be addressed?
Right now the block is going to the machine shop and the head is good to go. And I have a p28.

Thanks in advance
Honda Mike

·
BATSLOMAN GIVES NO FUCKS.
5,308 Posts
y8 head uses a different head bolt in the back left corner closest to the vtec solenoid. use the z6 camgear, b7 distributor. z6 would have been plug and play (minus dizzy conversion if staying obd0)

been covered a few million times, so if we miss something, you can always double check

·
Registered
EF9 DC2
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, I have a b7 dizzy, staying obd0 for now.
And I'll see what length the head bolt is on a ? D16Y8 right?
Thanks slo eg8

·
BATSLOMAN GIVES NO FUCKS.
5,308 Posts

·
Registered
EF9 DC2
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Found some of those write ups!

Here's the kick, last month only had a d15b7 with a twisted rod. Went on cl and found a gentleman moving and now I have 2 D16A6.
So this is ment to happen lol.
Thanks again

·
Brokedick Millionaire
40,748 Posts
Use the Y8 head and cam gear, A6 dizzy, stock ECU with turbo edit or P28 with jumper harness.

A6/Y8 combo without VTEC will yield 113.5 whp through stock intake and get 48 mpg in an 89 CRX HF.

When I pulled the head off I didn't notice any of the bolts being different though. Then again it was all trash anyways.

Bone's Great White CRX thread, which BTW the CRX left as a parts roller last weekend.

·
Premium Member
Civic turbo Hx/Ex
18,707 Posts
There's lots of good info out there on the topic. And some good advice on specifics already posted.