Honda D Series Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1996 Civic DX
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm a noob on this forum but I've done a fair amount of research. I have a D16Y7 that I want to boost. Right now my goal is to get about 250whp out of it. I understand all the parts that I'll need for the actual turbo set up, but I'm wondering if there's other stock parts I need to upgrade. I don't want create a layout for my build and then realize that I've forgotten something once it's all put together.

I know I'll need to upgrade the clutch, injectors, internals (rods and pistons), ECU, fuel pump, exhaust. What else am I missing? I read on 1 thread that the axles would break at 250-300whp but I couldn't find that on any other threads. Is that accurate? I'm also considering switching the head to a Y8 but I have to look into that some more. Thanks. ;)

·
Registered
1996 Civic DX
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Hi, I'm a noob on this forum but I've done a fair amount of research. I have a D16Y7 that I want to boost. Right now my goal is to get about 250whp out of it. I understand all the parts that I'll need for the actual turbo set up, but I'm wondering if there's other stock parts I need to upgrade. I don't want create a layout for my build and then realize that I've forgotten something once it's all put together.

I know I'll need to upgrade the clutch, injectors, internals (rods and pistons), ECU, fuel pump, exhaust. What else am I missing? I read on 1 thread that the axles would break at 250-300whp but I couldn't find that on any other threads. Is that accurate? I'm also considering switching the head to a Y8 but I have to look into that some more. Thanks. ;)
Oh I forgot to mention that I know I'll need spark plugs, a head gasket, and belts.

·
Registered
Honda Del Sol Si
89 Posts
We