Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys,

new to D-series just got my hands on a 98 hatch, and spare engine/box.
i am looking at putting the motor on a stand, strip/clean/inspect and replace
what i need to. i think it will be a great but slow learning curve with engines
i hope to week by week get one new part or most probs a hell of a lot slower
(depending on funds). the first impression i get from reading other threads is
some forged pistons (Vitars) seem a popular choice, i am guessing thats because there good lol.

i am brand new to the game but like i said i can see my self doing it, but i want
to do it right... is this a good place to start? any help/comments would be great
i will get some photos up this W/E

peace.

·
They call me Awesome!
4,447 Posts
Best place to start is searching. READ everything you can.

Then define what you want to build the motor for. A turbo motor will be different than a naturally aspirated motor (I.E. Vitara's are for a turbo motor).

Once you have those down read some more and find out what parts you want to spend your money on.

·
Registered
See above...
13,322 Posts
Yeah, what are your goals with the motor? Just because Vitaras fit into the motor doesn't make them the best fit for all applications.

GL, and read up!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
yes i know how the mechanics work, i just dont know were to start i mean lol if all im gonna get is shit for asking for help then wtf. i will stick to bikes

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
ok right? so scrap those. i would like to turbo it after i have the thing rebuilt. but i can see this being a long and expensive proses, is it that the vitars are low compression that makes them no good for NA?

·
They call me Awesome!
4,447 Posts
yes i know how the mechanics work, i just dont know were to start i mean lol if all im gonna get is shit for asking for help then wtf. i will stick to bikes