Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, Several years ago I replaced a head gasket on a D15B1 1990 civic SOHC. Long story short, I bought a remanufactured head due to problems with a machine shop doing the work on the original head. Needless to say, I had a head gasket issue again and now I am rebuilding the entire 1.5 L engine. The problem I have is that the remanufactured head is from a 1.6 L civic. I am aware of this because of the valve spring lengths, cam lobe heights, etc.

The question is: Is this really a problem. I am a Mech Engineer in the Automotive world and understand theories, but sometimes a really solid engine mechanic can school an engineer....yes, I will admit to this.

Can I use this head or is this possibly a reason why I had my second issue with this cyl head (loss of cyl compression).

PS. The car ran fine for about 10,000 miles.

·
BATSLOMAN GIVES NO FUCKS.
4,389 Posts
google d15b1 mini-me.

read.

???

profit!

·
Classic Man
Civic
16,355 Posts
So you have a D16A6 head you want to use? Just to be clear.

If so, you just use a Y7/Y8 cam gear. Or you can find a D15B1/2 cam, and build it like stock.

But just to confuse you, if your D16A6 cam is from an 88 CRX, you use a stock cam gear. Hah.

So lets say you didnt use the correct cam gear to correct the timing change from the D15's lower deck height in comparison to a D16... you would be half a tooth advance or half a tooth retarded for mechanical timing. The engine would run either way for basically ever just with lowered performance. So I dont think that is the source or cause of your mechanical failures.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4