Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Buick
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking at rebuilding my D16z6 engine, out of a '95 civic ex, and had a few questions. Also, I'm looking to turbo it and im a delivery driver, so this is a daily driver too.
-What is a good bore size? i've read that alot of people do 75mm, would this be the best?
-What are good pistons and rods? I'm told that Vitara pistons are "the best" but i can not find a website for the actual pistons.
-Does anyone know about the Necka Seal(sorry if spelling is off) coating? I was told that some honda have a thin seal inside the sleeves and the guy that would be boring my engine said he couldn't do it if my engine had the seal.

Thats all the things i can remember for now. When i think of the rest or come up with new questions i'll put them up here. Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
94 civic, 90 talon
1,943 Posts
75mm is the standard bore size. You would want 75.5 just to freshen things up and get better clearances and better sealing rings. Vitara pistons are out of a Suzuki, they happen to have the same dimensions as some of the d series pistons. Z6 is one of them. They are by far not the ''best'' they yield a lower compression and do handle a great deal of power, but its all in the tune and supporting mods. Fj distributors is a big supplier of vitara pistons and custom rods for them. Oh and youll be fine to bore your current sleeves up to 76mm iirc. Good luck with doing more research and building your motor.

·
Registered
525 Posts
Nica seal is a nickle plating that is applied to most 2cycle engines. It helps with ring seating an cylender durability. Your engine doesn't have it. Read. Then establish a goal that will work with your budget and mechanical skill. Also when setting aside your cash flow a good rule of thumb is. Total what you think it will cost an then add half again more. Nothing worse than a bunch of little things to set u back.

·
Registered
Buick