Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What's up everyone I'm new to this Honda tech stuff I have little background in mechanics but I need help ASAP I am trying to drop an obd1 engine into a 89 crx si that has obd0 harness I have the harness and computer from the 93 civic DX that the obd1 harnes is in and ecu can I just swap the harness and ecu without problems now I am using the crx si cable trans and it is a cable speedo will that become an issue for anything other than activating vtech and if so is there a wiring hack I can use so vtech will activate I still have the distributor for the obd1 harness as well What problem would I run into or might run into if this is all possible

·
Registered
247 Posts
Just look up obd0 to obd1 swap in the search bar there is a lot of info on it.
But to make your life easier look into get a obd0 to obd1 conversion harness for the ecu.
Also you need the correct ecu the dx won't work correctly you need one from a vx since its he correctly ecu for that motor.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What do u mean vx sry I'm completely new to the Honda lingo and this swapping motors in Hondas is turning out to be complicated lol I appreciate the help tho so what u are saying is I can't use the harness that the motor came from and put it into the si and call it a day

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ok if I got the conversion harness from obdo to obd1 do I need a different ecu or can I just use the one that is in the crx that is mainly my confusion on the conversion harness

·
Registered
247 Posts