Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i know i am still a noob to the forums but i am in need of advice.
me and my brother have been tossing the idea around of boosting our 1991 ef
d15b7

we are in no rush/ no one drives the car daily..
^^^^i DO NOT plan on boosting with stock internals
things that i know i need
full pieced together turbo kit, t25 turbo
injectors, fuel pump
ecu management,
h beam rods
undecided pistons
3 layer metal HG
y8 intake mani
stage 2 act clutch
obvious rings, gaskets bearings,
arp's

goal is 240ish whp
psi whatever gets us there on pump gas/ t25

the biggest questions i have are....

1 is it a good idea to stay with the b7 head, will the stock valvetrain be able to safely handle 280 hp at the crank? or should i use a z6 or y7 head?

2 also what pistons should i go with if im looking to use hbeams that have a stroke of 134.5. ? i am shooting for some where between 8.5 and 9.5 cr

I CAN NOT FIND ANY D15B7 TURBO BUILDS WORTH READING, IF YOU KNOW OF ANY LET ME KNOW
i do not want to swap, i would prefer to stay non vtec but i have a good z6 head, i know d15 builds are not cheap but me n my bro split everything 50/50

·
Registered
Love the Civic
1,817 Posts

·
Premium Member
2005 Legacy GT
1,754 Posts
My b7 bottom end made 184 whp/150 wtq with no issues.

What kind of budget are you looking at? For a budget build, your kind of limited to custom length b7 rods and vitara pistons. If you have no ceiling there are forged b7 parts, but they cost a pretty penny. I was planning to go this route oh so long ago so I've done some of the research leg work.

The b7 head will be fine (it's the same as an A6 head, with a smaller cam). You'll probably want to look into upgrading the springs/retainers cam, unless you don't plan on going over the stock redline. The upgrades will make reaching your goal easier, but I think the stock A6 heads have been taken over 300 whp (correct me if I'm wrong people).