Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 82 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Sorry to repeat a beat to death subject, but I am a noob to swaps and I just want to make sure I can have this done with little problems.

Background: I just blew my d16y7 in my '99 sedan. So, I want to upgrade to the Vi's d15b 3-stage vtec engine since I can get one with low mileage and it goes perfectly with my Vi-RS theme.

I know I cannot get 3-stage vtec w/o the p2j ecu blablabla. But I do not have time to search for that one, so I want to use a p2p for the meantime, and for emissions testing in the future.

My questions:

1) What all do I need to wire up one vtec solenoid to the p2p? Wire, plug, etc?
2) Which solenoid is for the 16-valve mode and which is the "wild cam?" Right/Left?
3)Am I missing anything?

·
Registered
85 Posts
np bro....ive did alot of research as well n i kept my d15b auto....its way betta being stick then auto but im tired of wastn money (even tho im stil wastn money..LoL..) i jus want mine to b a cruiser n aggresive w/o no1 knowing wat i have under the hood!!!!

Since urs is manual.........Im going to tell u wat my boy did cause his shit is up n running...He has a Manual 96 ek coupe ex vtec....Wat he did was swap his d16y8 manifold onto the motor n used his original vtec engine harness...everythn hooks up wit no prob except for the 2nd vtec...U need the manual p2j ecu (which u already kno) for the dual vtec noids...
In order to wire the 2 vtec noids up:
Step 1: Remove th old wire loom and electrical tape...
Step 2: Run a wire through the grommet in the firewall...
Step 3: Connect the solenoid wires...
Step 4: Retape the wires and loom...
Step 5: Run the second wire to the a21 in the ecu bak
Hope this helps....He was suppose to send me pics of wat he did but gave me these steps to follow instead...Ima bug him later for the pics n il let u kno so i can email it to u.....