Honda D Series Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys, im a total honda newb, so i know nothing. Ok what im working with is a 91 Honda CRX with a JDM D15B swap. Its throwing a O2 sensor code, and a Vtec Solenoid Code (21).
1. Is this what the VTEC solenoid looks like?

If yes, i now know where its located, but still have no clue how to trouble shoot it and figure out whats wrong. So any help there would be great.

O2 sensors all beat to crap, so i think ive solved that one already

Now on the TB i noticed a random sensor with nothing connected to it. Whats that bad boy for? and how bout that vacuum port?

Other than those couple things, the car seems perfect. I dont think VTEC is kickin in though, this is my first honda/vtec car, but ive ridden in them before, and usually i could feel when vtec kicked in. I never felt any difference at any RPM in this car.
The ECU is a p08 if that matters.

Thanks for any and all help.

Keith

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No i didnt do the swap myself. its a p08 ecu.

I figured that was the MAP sensor. Wonder why its not hooked up, and where the plug is for it, lol.

·
Banned
1,815 Posts
well as of right now, I bet you have 2 map sensors in your car. Look on your firewall. You'll see a little black thing that looks like you vtec sylinoid, but hanging up side down.

·
Banned
1,815 Posts
your suppost to run the obd1, but if the car is running fine, dont worry about it. There is a way to hardwire your vtec sylinoid to your vtec oil pressure sensor. It will take care of the light, and you will run vtec..

Its throwing a code 21 right? I think thats vtec sylinoid..

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
That looks good. Its on my to-do list, lol. Ive just got other stuff that comes first, like getting this light gone. Yeah its a code 21, how do you do that hardwire so that vtec works, and the light goes bye bye.