Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Started the tear down of the D15B today. Everything went smoothly, had a bit of bother getting the Crank Pulley Bolt will get someone with an impact wrench to give it ago tomorrow. Considering this is my first build I was thinking about giving the bottom end to someone to inspect and to replace any parts.

Just a couple of questions,

Would it be best to do the above or to try tackle it myself ? Before the build I was hoping to do the work to the bottom end and to send the head to a shop to get done, but thinking about it I want everything to be done right and to work. Would it be wise to do the work to the bottom end myself ?

Also if I want to swap anything out now like pistons, header etc what can I go with, will any D15B upgrades all fit ?

This is gonna be a N/A street build which is my daily driver.

Thanks
Brainz

·
Registered
civic
1,750 Posts
i have the same engine , i found that most of the parts from the D14A1 fit , like gaskets ect , warter pump , timming belt ,
why are you doing a rebuild???? did the engine have a problem ????
was it smoking ????
all the best

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I bought the engine not in a car, so Iam not 100% sure about its condition internally. Seeming it was not in a car, i thought why not. Gives me a chance to learn a couple of things along the way.

Jsut wanted to see what mods I could to to try squeeze out some more power.

In the end this engine will be replacing my D13B which is sitting in my EG3.

I was gonna replace bearings to start with so at least I know the bottom end is in good working order.

How did you find the D15B to get power out of ?

·
Registered
civic
1,750 Posts
it not bad at all !!!! if you mod the carbs , you can get a few more bhp , and add a header ect , very hard to find after market porfomace parts for , but you can get the cam regound , ect