Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so I jsut read the article with the ZC head thrown onto a D16a1 block. My friend has a single cam ZC block with a D16A1 head. So after some talking he says that it will work with some modification. Now I am not new to this, but I am new to the single cam. I have been working on lots of 6.0L and 6.4L at work so this should be something new.

I have a D15B non vtec block and I also have a D16A1 head. To make everything work I was thinking that using the main crank gear (the one with the teeth on it) and swapping it onto the D15 crank, or atempting to fit a single cam cam gear to the DOHC cams. And then i found a nice little volvo t3 turbo with no shaft play that I wanted to run.

As for the ECU I was thinking of running a PG7 and running 3 to 5 pounds pre-tune, and then after that have it set to 12 pounds track and 6 pounds daily driving.

You guys think this set up will work? I already have most the parts, cept for the turbo, manifold, piping, and intercooler and waste gate. Snatched the BOV off the volvo today lol

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
sorry, let me re-explain it.

pretty much a D15 block with a D16A1 head, I am told it works, but not only told, I drove a hatch with a similar set up.

the cam gears and the crank gears. Since the DOHC has like 40 teeth on the cam gears, do I need to change the gear on the SOHC crank to a 20 tooth, or is it that much already?

And for the dizzy I am told to use a SOHC USDM Civic/CRX Si OBD0 Dizzy and told it should fit no problem

·
Classic Man
Civic
16,355 Posts
ive read that its a mission to failure. but i would love to see someone do it. i wouldnt mind doing it. hehe

as for the crank tooth count, id say go outside and have a peek at your block :p

·
Registered
239 Posts
Discussion Starter #6