Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1990 Civic Si
1,013 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I feel like a total noob in asking this but searching has provided mixed answers, and some confusion. So hopefully we can get this cleared up for the last time.....well hopefully lol. Im sure it will come up again soon.

I read the statement that all D axles are the same from 88-00 EXCEPT for the hf/std axles which have different hubs, but some of my confusion comes in the specific application of the axles in regards to different chassis, motor and tranny combinations (well my combo at least ;)).

I did come across in my search a hilarious thread with Cleft_Asunder. I lol'd at the drama.

Anyways heres my car:

90 Si with a Z6 and a cable tranny - from what I gather I should just use my ED axles with it, which is what I believe I have done this whole time, but will 92-00 axles fit as well with a cable tranny?

I ask because I can get a pair of used 97 CX axles for like $50.

Also from researching that if I convert and use a 92-95 hydro tranny in my ED, that I can ONLY use 92-95 axles (or possibly up to 00??), because one of the axles is longer. Therefore, I cannot use my ED axles in this case. Is that right?

So if one of the axles is longer in EG/EK's because of the tranny, then how can all d axles be the same?

Have I been mislead with something that I've read? They logically clash, so Im confused!

Any help is appreciated on this age old and likely annoying question from my D family :bigok:

·
Registered
1,545 Posts
Don't quote me but I think 90-00 are all the same. All you need is to know how many spline you are. IF it's 21 spline then I think any 90-00 will work.

But as I said. Don't quote me I'm not sure

·
Brokedick Millionaire
40,476 Posts
D axles are not all the same.

88-91 are different lengths than 92-00........

92-95 Left = 773mm-778mm
92-95 Right = 500mm-505mm

88-91 Left = 775mm-780mm
88-91 Right = 483mm-487mm

·
Registered