Honda D Series Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
262 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not a mechanic so the theory proposed in my subject heading is only a hypothesis.

My car was up on the hoist today and to my surprise we found that the crank seal was leaking. I had my engine rebuilt about a year ago and I am pretty sure that the crank seal was brand new installed at that time. Is it odd for a crank seal to give out that early?

Would a bad crank seal cause noticeable oil loss between oil changes?

The leak may very well be from the cam seal as well..

I am going to have both replaced mid april. Is it ok to drive the car if these seals are on their way out and leaking slightly?

Im not sure but, could a leaky crank or cam seal cause my belt to slip?

·
Registered
262 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
if i have to replace my timing belt due to oil getting at it.. Should I just use OEM or since I am boosted, should I use a reinforced type of belt ??

any use in getting a gates racing timing belt?

·
Registered
262 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
how can you determine if the leak is from the crank seal or the oil pump to block seal?

·
Registered
See above...
13,322 Posts
While in there I would re-seal the oil pump if you have any doubts. The crank seal probably isn't bad, it is probably the crank snout there where the seal meets the seal has worn a groove...casuing oil to leak out a bit.

I had the small problem at the opposite end of my crank...the rear main seal. Brand new seal, but because of the groove worn into the crank there it caused a little to push out cuz of the groove. The oil never touched the working part of the clutch/PP/FW though thank God.

·
Registered
487 Posts