Honda D Series Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
CRX ECODiesel Ram
1,036 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been running for several years without a problem at 12.5:1 with an oem gasket and stock headbolts. This summer though i started pushing coolant out, and a test kit confirmed exhaust in the coolant. I pulled the head, sent it off to be surfaced and tested, bought head studs, and put it back together with a new headgasket. I also replaced the radiator with a new oem style unit, along with an aluminum fan shroud, 2 slim line fans, and mishimoto radiator hoses, and all new honda coolant.
Prior to headgasket failure, i was seeing 183-189 degrees coolant temp all the time. Now with the repairs and "upgrades" I am seeing 185 creeping up to 203-205 when driving for longer periods. I have the radiator fan on all the time while the condenser fan is still wired to run with the ac. I am not pushing coolant out anymore. I am concerned that I am running too hot still and am replacing my thermostat this week just in case.

It has also been hit as hell this summer, I am looking at high 90s on a daily basis with heat indexes up around 110 daily.

Should I be concerned about the temps I am seeing? Do I need more coolant capacity (larger radiator)? what else can I look at?

·
Registered
92 cx
934 Posts
It could definately help lower temps to run a larger capacity radiator, straight water with water wetter or the amsoil stuff. You could duct the airflow so it goes thru the radiator and not around it. Do you have more info on your build? Report back after thermostat install. I dunno if it's a great idea to have the fan run the whole time if that's what you were saying.

·
Registered
3,120 Posts
Check for slow leaks or pressure escaping.

Sometimes the thermostats don't open enough. Drill it.

I prefer hot side mounted thermostats.

Full size rad.

More important. Make sure air isn't going around the Rad.

Probably is more now with new rad

·
Registered