Honda D Series Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
1997 civic ex
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im a little new to engine building and i'm building a z6 block. I was trying to figure out my compression ratio with everything that i picked out and my static compression ratio is coming out to 7.71:1, and my dynamic is 11.90:1 on 8 pounds of boost. Can someone explain the difference between the static and dynamic ratios? im a little lost.

Thanks in advance.

· Premium Member
2,046 Posts
Static is the ratio of cylinder volume to combustion volume. Dynamic is that same ratio but only counting from when the valves are closed and the piston is actually compressing the mixture. Or at least that is my understanding

· Registered
93 4d lx, z6,ported, port matched, compression bumped, balanced, manual swap
1,629 Posts
Dynamic accounts for the cylinder being already charged with pressure before the piston begins to move upwards, it can also be used to account for valve closing angles in certain applications where the intake valve is open until after the piston starts its upwards travel.

· Registered
10,091 Posts
Easiest way I have found for folks learning.

Static, Elastic, Dynamic.

Static is compression measured against a sealed combustion chamber, the ratio of volume from bottom of the stroke to the top of the stroke.