Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any and all help is much appreciated. Okay so first off I'm very new to Hondas but am a seasoned mechanic. I bought a 1994 civic ex from this dude about two months ago and two weeks after buying it the head gasket blew which i kind of expected to happen. Here's the problem the guyi bought it from knew nothing about the engines history except that it has a non vtec head on a vtec car. So after getting the head checked and i took apart the bottom end to make sure everything checked out which it did i started reassembly and here is where the issues began. From what i have checked out the head is off a 96 and found this out the hard way after ordering head bolts for the 94 and they were about an inch too long so i talked with a guy at the dealership and he narrowed it down to the right ones i needed so Saturday i put everything back together and fired her up and it idles but kinda rough and its definitely running rich. My question is since i still have the vtec ecu is that causing my problems? Also has a surging idle randomly and the distributor is definitely the wrong one, it works but i can't get the ignition timing right and only 2 of the 3 bolt holes line up. Do i need the dizzy from a 96

·
Registered
Love the Civic
1,817 Posts
Need to match the motor type to the dizzy, check the badge on the left side of the motor under the radiator hose. Should say D15XX, need to know that to help more effectively. I am assuming its a d15b7 because of your year and non vtec. Yes your vtec ecu is causing it to run rich. I think a p06 is the correct ECU

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited by Moderator)
It says d15b on the block, head says p2a-10 and dizzy says d02691. Hope this helps

I already have the non vtec head machined, inspected and installed. I'm not looking for any performance at all im just trying to put together a reliable daily with good mpg.

·
Registered