Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody!

I just want to know if this cam looks fine to you!

and this one too?

thanks.

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What cam and how many miles are on it. First shot looks like theres some wear going on.
it is a JDM D15B VTEC cam and i have no idea about mileage since it is from an engine i bought from a junk yard. is that wear serious? this one just got my eyes so i just wanted to check with u guys!

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
is it normal to for a low millage engine to have such this wear on the cam? does this show that engine wasn't that low mileage?

·
Registered
2,203 Posts
I think that looks like more than normal wear... But I guess it depends how it feels IRL.
How does the cam surfaces on the head look? And the rocker arm surfaces?
Can you feel the scratching with your finger nail?

I'm no expert, and that may well be acceptable wear.

·
Registered
857 Posts
That's definately not normal in Honda engine. Maybe in Ford Pinto, but not D16.
It looks like oiling problem or something, what oil you've (or previous owned) used? That wear seems to be on closing side, how opening side looks? IMO that looks like using too thin or worn(used too long) oil, that rocker squeezes off from cam and won't stick between them and lube it correctly. You should check your oil pressure and lost motion assemblies too.

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
It looks like oiling problem or something, what oil you've (or previous owned) used? That wear seems to be on closing side, how opening side looks? IMO that looks like using too thin or worn(used too long) oil, that rocker squeezes off from cam and won't stick between them and lube it correctly. You should check your oil pressure and lost motion assemblies too.