Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got some questions about building a mini swap
I have a d16z6 head and a d16y7 block and everything to convert it to VTEC it will be a fully built block and head with all the good stuff Brian Crower springs, Darton sleeved, Brian Crower z6 stage 2 turbo cam, foraged rods, foraged pistons, z6 crank, and will be balanced, ported and polished ect ect and will be boosted. When im done with the engine I have to do the break in procedure (without the turbo) for the engines saftey. So my questions are do I need a tune with all that in there especially with the z6 stage 2 cam? and if I dont should I be okay running stock fuel pump, injectors manifold and throttle body from a 97 DX just for the break in period? Or can I stick to running an Edelbrock intake manifold and ITR TB and stock fuel pump and injectors? And will my low compression be okay too? This is my first build im a newbie i've checked the forums and got nothing. I could really use your help.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
369 Posts
First things first, if you're going all out building an engine, you should probably start wih a Z6 block instead of the y7. I'm sure good things can be done with the y7, but failures are much more common.
As for your tune you can probably get by using your stage 2 cam and stock fueling for the break in, just don't get too crazy on it.
You haven't said anything about your piston and rod combo so we can't help you on your compression.

After all that, my answer should probably really have been: "Search the forum and browse the build threads for a few weeks" once you get a feel for what has been done and works successfully you will be better prepared for the journey ahead.

·
Registered
6,261 Posts
The d16y7 block is perfectly fine to use. He stated he is using a d16z6 crankshaft.