Honda D Series Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I recently bought a 97 EK that has a D16Y8 block and D15Y7 non v-tec head. I’m going to get a backup motor and trans from a salvage yard that shows to have 148k on them.

Im just a little skeptical on how the setup that’s in the car will turn out hence the back up setup. My question is kinda abnormal in that im not wanting to build the spare setup for HP or speed at all but for the best possibly fuel economy and reliability as this is my daily and need it to last as long as possible.

While the motor is on the stand what all can I do to achieve those goals ? I’ll also have the trans rebuilt just to be safe. I’m no mechanic but with good instructions and advice I think I can do a lot myself.

·
Registered
93 4d lx, z6,ported, port matched, compression bumped, balanced, manual swap
1,469 Posts
Find a shop that can dynamically balance the bottom end, use oem pistons that will get the compression ratio to somewhere between 9.8:1 and 10.2:1, port match a d15b7 intake manifold to the y8 head, have new guides put in and a valve job done, and find a new Yamada oem oil pump. Zfr6fgp plugs, send injectors out to be cleaned and flow tested, or purchase a set of flow matched rebuilds, good quality 91 or higher fuel. Serious debates about trans gearing with some saying stick with 4.25:1 ex gearing, some say hx, some say dx/lx but I think that all comes down to engine build and tuning. I'm currently running a z6 build that's on 4.25:1 ex gearing, logging 39.5 mpg combined, and I don't drive it gently since it's always chomping at the bit and trying to tear the tires off at every light despite recent attempts to tame the little beastie.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·