Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to the Honda world still. I picked up an 86 Prelude Si for stupid cheap about 4 months ago with an A20a3 that's just about had it and a few weeks ago bought another stupid cheap car that I thought I may use for a motor swap but found that the 2 don't go together very well. So now I'm stuck with a 97 civic HX with a d16y5 sitting in my yard. I don't want anything to do with the car, but I may be interested in building the engine for another project if it's even worth it.

It runs great with about 200k on it. No rattles or knocks. I just don't know if it's worth trying to build for a later project.

What would you guys recommend? Money isn't too much of an issue as cars are what a good majority of my money goes into anyways.

Pictures of said cars just because.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
93 dx + 92 lx
328 Posts
What do you like to do with cars? Drag race? Roadtrips? Autocross?

·
Retired From Hondas
2,796 Posts
Well, If money is no object..

Id sell off the civic.. Start working on the lude as these cars arent around much.

You get alot more brownie points restoring an 86 prelude over the run of the mill civic.

Sell off the civic, use that cash for a legit prelude build with engine swap, suspension, interior (if you can)

If interior pieces are hard to find and your interior is in bad shape, you can always rip it out, paint everything and make a track inspired build.

·
Registered
93 dx + 92 lx
328 Posts
If money isn't a consideration he doesn't need to sell off anything, and the pedestrian civic could be a different flavor build in time if he ends up digging working on Hondas like I did. I was a v8 and rotary guy, now honda 4 life

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Well the civic definitely has to go somewhere else now. I just found and bought my great grandfathers old truck that I thought was gone forever.

·