Honda D Series Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
VTEC withdrawals
i "ride" yo momma
1,339 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
let me start by saying....i searched and found some similar stuff....but not similar enough. so the car has been sitting which of course means....bleed the brakes. i had a leaking caliper...replaced it....all the front pads...bled the brakes going RR...LR...RF....LF the LF which is the one with the new caliper would not stop with teeny tiny bubbles....every time ive ever bled them its been big bubbles. the e-brake still works and when the car originally went down the brakes worked just fine except for the slow leak in the fl. if someone could explain bench bleeding and gravity bleeding since im new to the brake scene it would be nice. any suggestions are good.

·
VTEC withdrawals
i "ride" yo momma
1,339 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
well ive figured out what bench bleeding is. and at my current location i dont have a vise so not gonna happen. I still have no idea exactly how gravity bleeding works...do you just let it sit with the bleed nut open? could the tiny bubbles in the left front be my problem?

·
Registered
98 honda civic LX
1,765 Posts
when gravity bleeding open 1 caliper at a time wait till it drips out then close and move on to the next
same thing with a master cylinder well just let it bleed out the line holes and plug em up put it in the car adn connect the lines
also make sure "im assumming you have drums brakes in the rear" that you adjust the rears they should have a slight drag when rotating the rear tires

bleedign brakes is way easy just take your time and make sure you tighten the bleeders when your done and double check em

theres a buch of ways to bleed the brakes as in sequence but ive bleed brakes the way the manual says and "the other way" which is r/r l/r r/f l/f and i dont notice a diffrence!

you dont really need a bleeder pump thing "brain fart" you only need one person